Tuesday, January 22, 2019

Two New Champions Asif, Salma emerges on the scene in Hub Rally Cross 2019

By Abdul Qadir Qureshi
(Pakistan News & Features Services)

The  sixth edition of Hub Rally Cross 2019 saw two new champions Asif Imam and Salma Khan emerging on the horizon after sensational and intriguing competition at the Max Dirt Arena in Hub on the border of Sindh. Asif from Karachi, who had been managing and developing the Max Dirt track won the "A" Prepared Class event. He  clocked 8 min 33 sec to grab the major title while veteran racer Nadeem Khan finished second with Irfan Mian clinching third position in the field of seven racers.

     "It was bit surprise for me that I drove well despite little practice on the track and for this my thanks to Almighty that I achieved this," Asif told reporters after the presentation ceremony.

      " May be absence of few top racers like Nadir Magsi,  Sahibzada Sultan Muhammad Ali and Asad Khoro helped me to take away the title which I was not expecting," he maintained. On the other side Salma Khan of Peshawar, now based in Islamabad, while  driving with co-driver Nadeem Khan took 9 min 13 sec  to wrap up the long standing domination of Tushna Patel. 

Salma was driving over 5000 CC vehicle while Tushna got 2800 cc powered vehicle. Asma Asif  finished third in 12min02sec."Though I am newcomer, I have been appearing in few national events in the recent past. But I am absolutely delighted to win the title. 
          It was for the first time  a lucrative purse of over Rs. One million prize money was distributed among the winners of different categories. Vice Chairman of Indus Motor Company Yuji Takarada was the chief guest on the occasion distributed some
prizes with Chief Organizer Shujaat Sherwani, veteran racers Sarfraz Dhanji, 
Nadeem Khan and other guests of honor.
         Special awards went to Aamir Magsi for fastest track drivers in prepared category and 
Mansoor Haleem in Stock category. Hundreds of motor racing followers and locals watched the thrilling action. 

Following are results:
Prepared "A": 1. Asif Imam 2. Nadeem Khan 3. Irfan Mian. 
Prepared "B": 1. Aamir Magsi 2. Sahibzada Bahadur 3. Muhammad Dhanji
Prepared "C"  1. Shiraz Qureshi 2. Kashif Khan 3. Beberak  Magsi
Ladies:            1. Salma Khan  2. Tushna Patel 3. Asma Asif
Stock "A":        1.Mansoor Haleem 2. Ahmed Imam 3. Mir Nawaz
Stock "B":        1. Ronnie Patel 2. Naveed Wasti  3. Umar Farooq
Stock "C"         1. Beberak Baluch 2.  Nasir Khan 3. Shad Ali Khan